Implementing PBL – how will I be different? (542)

teacherAs a teacher, I tend to do okay with acting as a facilitator with students. I use the word okay because at times I am great at working the room, overseeing the students’ working and keeping them on tasks. However, I find myself doing the mundane paperwork of teaching instead or chatting with a group on an off task topic. I wish I could pinpoint the cause of my own actions but as I write this I wonder is it the group of students? The task? The time of day? The students’ interest in the task? Is it me?

I just know one thing for sure I need a concrete plan to combat this. Here are a few tips I plan to implement.

– Do not EVER look at this time as a chance to update my attendance, grade book or an opportunity to check email.

– Create a check in sheet for each group. For example, determine if the group is focused, accomplishing the objective and working together. Find a way to work the results into the rubric.

– Work the room the entire time – remember this time is not “teacher time”

– Take anecdotal notes for the next class or the next year.

Perhaps self-awareness of these behaviors will help me or perhaps writing these concerns down will propel me to be more successful next year in this regard.

One element I believe I excel at is rapport. In most of my classes, I am able to create a calm and friendly environment where the students genuinely support each other.

teamworkFor some aspects of my PBL project, my students will be expected to work together.  I am fairly certain that this part will go well.  I spend time during the beginning of the school year creating a true community of learners. At an independent boarding school, my students and I see each other in many ways outside of the classroom. I frequently have students for dinner at our home, watch them on the sports field or work with them in the arts. In this way I find building relationships and connections to be somewhat easier.

Implementing PBL in my classroom will not be easy but I am ready for the challenge.

Leave a comment